Where Gusto fits
Small businesses running payroll.
Its default offboarding step for access is one line, “Remove access to app accounts (if applicable)”, with no list of which accounts or who removes them. Custom tasks need a higher plan.
Payroll and HR for small businesses, with a built-in offboarding checklist. Here’s how it compares with Handover, using Gusto’s own pages.
| Handover | Gusto | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Onboarding and offboarding checklists with an access record | HR and payroll system |
| Free plan | Yes, up to 3 people | No |
| Lowest price | $29/month flat for up to 50 people | Not stated |
| Priced by | Flat price per business | Not stated |
| Who it says it’s for | Businesses with 3 to 150 people and no IT department | Not stated |
| Best for | Small teams that need to know who has what, including keys and shared passwords | Small businesses running payroll. |
Sources: gusto.com, support.gusto.com. Checked October 29, 2026. Prices change; check their site before buying.
Small businesses running payroll.
Its default offboarding step for access is one line, “Remove access to app accounts (if applicable)”, with no list of which accounts or who removes them. Custom tasks need a higher plan.
Works next to Gusto: Gusto handles final pay, Handover handles every login, laptop and key, with a step for each.
The offboarding checklist is on all plans, with default task 'Remove access to app accounts (if applicable)'. Custom tasks need Plus or Premium. The pricing page fetch failed, so prices are unverified. No app inventory or automated revocation is described.
For small businesses that mainly need to get everything back when someone leaves, often yes: Works next to Gusto: Gusto handles final pay, Handover handles every login, laptop and key, with a step for each.
Small businesses running payroll. Its default offboarding step for access is one line, “Remove access to app accounts (if applicable)”, with no list of which accounts or who removes them. Custom tasks need a higher plan.
Not stated, according to its own site as checked October 29, 2026. The offboarding checklist is on all plans, with default task 'Remove access to app accounts (if applicable)'. Custom tasks need Plus or Premium. The pricing page fetch failed, so prices are unverified. No app inventory or automated revocation is described.